Untitled Document

Web Traffic & Marketing Web Traffic & Marketing Web Traffic & Marketing

 


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Strange Happenings With My Sites

  1. #1
    Ninja Newbie johnvint is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Strange Happenings With My Sites

    I have 6 or 7 affiliate sites that are ranking on page 1 of google for their respective keywords and have been on page 1 for some time. When I went to check some stats today I noticed that every single one of them has dropped to page 5 or worse.

    I am familiar with the google dance but it seems strange that every single site has dropped like that on the same day. Promotions for these sites are ongoing so its not like they are stagnant.

    Does anyone have any thoughts on what might of caused this. I am not brand new to affiliate marketing but still am a rookie. Any in-put would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
    John







  2. #2
    Ninja Newbie renoriz is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast, Queensland, OZ
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
    Hi John,

    I have seen recent reports on other forums from affiliate marketers complaining about the same thing.

    Online rumour has it that G is cracking down big time on affiliate sites. But who really knows.

    Did you have a good ratio of original content on each site?

    Maybe Tim can shed some light on this possibility of Affiliate site crack downs.






  3. #3
    Moderator Mike Taylor is on a distinguished road Mike Taylor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Camarillo, CA, USA
    Posts
    317
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    If you are using some sort of automated system to get your links, check each of the blogs linking to your site in your browser. I lost a bunch of hard-earned ranking when I tried automation and several of the blogs that were provided turned out to be label as malware and/or attack sites. These NEVER showed up in the program's browser interface, but did when I browsed them in FireFox. The links from those blogs killed me! It took several months after deleting the blogs created on those sites to get my rankings back...






  4. #4
    Ninja Newbie motodisc is on a distinguished road
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Tim,

    For several days I have been trying to figure out the problem with my newly created wordpress site (Used Mercedes SL) with pre-installed WTG software.

    Apparently google is blocking the page and I am at loss on how to resolve this issue. Please have a look at this google page below:

    Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for used-mercedes-sl.com

    Thanks in advance for your help on this matter.
    Best regards,
    Richard






  5. #5
    Moderator brett is on a distinguished road brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,282
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 91 Times in 90 Posts
    A bit of a guess... but to me it seems that the problem is not the used mercedes site, but another site on the same host.

    In that link you provided there is the following
    Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including misfitsone.net/.
    So it seems that misfitsone.net has done something naughty and this is having an impact on you.

    Have you talked to your webhost about this? Do you have any other sites on the same host with the same problem?

    Just a guess

    Brett

    EDIT: Oh - I just read it properly. It seems to be saying that whatever malicious software has been found on your site seems to be being hosted on that other one. Are you able to get to the admin page? perhaps you need to try and disable plugins? Perhaps uninstall everything and stick something innocuous up there and give google a chance to see it "clean" before trying again.





    Last edited by brett; 2nd September 2010 at 07:59 AM. Reason: More info
    Get Bulletproof Backups and Security Monitoring for your WordPress Portfolio at Code Garage

  6. #6
    Ninja Newbie Greg D is on a distinguished road Greg D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Might be the affiliate site crackdown. Could also be the way you are linking them.
    Are they linked to each other, are they on the same IP address.
    You could be in a 'bad neighborhood' when it comes to IPs if you are on shared hosting as well.

    Greg






+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts